Thursday, March 3, 2011

ABCs of Me

My friend posted this on her blog and I thought it was kind of a fun thing to do especially since it has been ages since I have posted anything. 

A. Age: 28 and acting 22!

B. Bed size: Queen, had to buy new sheets to fit the big bed when I moved to Lusaka.  Doesn't really feel much bigger than a full though. 

C. Chore you dislike: Washing laundry by hand, I rub my skin raw.  I dream about the day I will own a washer and dryer.

D. Dogs: Don't own any anymore.  Had 6 running around that I claimed for mine in the village.  Had 50 that I took care of in Alask and 1 that I would let in my bed and ride shotgun with me around town.  I also dream about the day that I will have dogs once again.  Notice the plural, gotta have more than one really!
E. Essential start to your day: Coffee.  Full stop.  Bathing is nice too, but only important if I didn't get one the night before.

F. Favorite color: Blue, like the ocean and the sky. Although it appears purple is taking over.

G. Gold or silver: Silver. Or white gold? 

H. Height: 5'6".

I. Instruments you play(ed):  Started playing the clarinet in the 5th or 6th grade, can't remember now, until I graduated high school.  The thing hasn't been touched in ten years and is sitting in my closet at my mom's house aging not so well.

J. Job title:  Well I am a Research Assistant at the WorldFish Center, but I am also a Peace Corps Volunteer.  So that means I work at the WorldFish Center for FREE!!!  It also means that I get lots of cool experience with minimal qualifications!!!  Fair trade if you ask me.

K. Kids: Not yet.  Didn't want them for the longest time.  Then I moved to Africa and my biological clock kicked in and now I day dream about carying babies on my back like the women here.  My how things change.

L. Live:  I now live in Zambia's capital city, Lusaka with about 2 million other people. 

M. Mom’s name: LeeAnne, not that is not two names or her first and middle name, it is one name.

N. Nicknames: Joce is my favorite just because it is a mouthful to say my whole name. 

O. Overnight hospital stays:  I tore my ACL when I was 15 and I had reconstructive surgery, so I spent at least one night in the hospital after they operated for a good 6 hours.  Might of been two nights, the morphine and vicadin have blurred those memories though.

P. Pet peeves: Injustice.  Any form of injustice sends me through the roof.

Q. Quote from a movie:

"Your killing me smalls."

R. Righty or lefty: Righty, for writing anyway.

S. Siblings: I have a younger brother.  Now however I have 3 step sisters, one which I have not met and the other two I have been around twice, and a step brother that I have met once.  I don't make it home much...

T. Time you wake up: 6:00 or 6:30.  Even on weekends.  Sometimes I sleep in but that is a very rare occasion and it throws off my whole day.

U. Underwear: I like it, actually I hate going with out it.  The cotton variety is the only thing suitable.

V. Vegetables you don't like:  There is this leaf here in Zambia that is pounded then boiled and it becomes very runny like snot and it tastes like you are chewing on green tea leaves.  I can't eat it without making a mess and the flavor really puts me off. 

W. What makes you run late: Squeezing too much into a short amount of time.  Well and having lived in the village for 2 years where time is very elastic. 

X. X-rays you’ve had:  Had an x-ray on my foot recently to determine if I broke my baby toe.  The doctor was amazed at how messed up the toe was but with no indication of a fracture in the x-ray. 

Y. Yummy food you make: My new roommate has been making all the yummy foods lately!  The banana bread I made though was pretty killer.

Z. Zoo animal favorites: Don't much like zoo's.  Would like to see a panda and a polar bear in the wild though.  Not at the same time of course.

Have you completed this survey? If so, link it up in the comments and share the ABCs of you, with me!

1 comment:

  1. I agree with your U answer. Cotton underwear is the only way to go! :)